Sergey Prokofiev chronological table

Sergei Prokofiev, a chronological table of the composer's life and work is set out in this article.

Sergey Sergeevich Prokofiev chronological table

April 11 (23), 1891 - was born in the village of Sontsovka, Bakhmut district, Yekaterinoslav province (today - the village of Krasnoe, Krasnoarmeysky district, Donetsk region, Ukraine).

1902 - 1903 - Prokofiev takes music lessons from Reinhold Glier.

1904 - 1914 - study at the St. Petersburg Conservatory, where one of the teachers of Prokofiev was N.P. Rimsky-Korsakov.

1909 - Prokofiev becomes a certified composer, but does not stop there and ends the conservatory as a pianist. During this period, Toccata (op. 11), Ten Pieces (op. 12), Second Sonata, Ballad for Cello and Piano, as well as the opera Maddalena came out from the composer's pen.

1908 - the first concerts of Prokofiev

1914 - for the successful completion of the conservatory, parents reward Prokofiev with a trip to London. Here the composer meets Sergey Diaghilev, who introduces him to the European music society. Sergei Prokofiev is quickly becoming popular, he is invited to tour in Italy. He gives concerts in Rome and Naples.

1914 - 1918 - Prokofiev wrote the Scythian Suite, which brought him scandalous fame. Neither the public nor the criticism tolerates the “barbarism” of the “Scythian Suite”. Also written are the piano cycle Sarcasm, the opera The Player, and the vocal tale The Ugly Duckling.

1917 - Writes the third and fourth piano sonatas, a concert for violin and orchestra, Classical Symphony, and the piano cycle Fleeting. Returning to Petrograd, the composer gives several concerts.

1918 - 1936 - many-year tour in Europe, Asia and America. Prokofiev travels around the world, for the entire period only three times drove into the USSR (in 1927, 1929 and 1932).

The Second and Third Symphonies, the Second Violin Sonata, the String Quartet, the Fourth and Fifth Piano Concertos, the operas Love for Three Oranges and the Fiery Angel, the ballets Prodigal Son, The Tale of the Jester, and the Seven Jesters who twanged, On Dnieper "and others.

1933 - returns to Moscow with his family. The Sixth Piano Sonata, the First Violin Sonata, the cantata “On the 20th Anniversary of October”, “Children's Music” (12 pieces for piano), the symphonic tale “Peter and the Wolf” were released.

1935 - creates the ballet Romeo and Juliet.

1938 - Writes music for the film by Sergei Eisenstein "Alexander Nevsky." The Sixth Piano Sonata, the operas Semyon Kotko and Duenya were created.

1941 - marriage with Lina falls apart. The government declares it invalid, and the divorce has never been formalized. During World War II, Prokofiev was evacuated to the Caucasus: first to Nalchik, then to Tbilisi. The suite “1941”, the opera “War and Peace”, the ballet “Cinderella”, the Fifth Symphony, the Seventh and Eighth Sonatas for piano are written.

January 15, 1948 - wedding with Mira Mendelssohn.

February 10, 1948 - by a resolution of the Politburo of the Central Committee of the All-Union Communist Party of Bolsheviks, the composers Prokofiev and Shostakovich were recognized as enemies of the people.

1949 - the composer's health deteriorates sharply. He writes the opera The Tale of a Real Man, the ballet Stone Flower, the oratorio Guard of the World, the Ninth Piano Sonata, etc.

March 5, 1953 - Sergei Prokofiev dies in Moscow from a hypertensive crisis.

Add a comment


Your e-mail will not be published. Required fields are marked *